Emotional moments as Cllr Mandy Kelly elected mayor

THERE were emotional moments in the Council chamber on Tuesday evening as Cllr Donal Mandy Kelly was elected mayor of the Letterkenny and Milford Municipal District at their AGM. Members of the Kelly family were present as Cllr Ciaran Brogan nominated Cllr Kelly, saying “it is a strange day for the Kelly family”. All in […]

Blaney in line to be next Donegal cathaoirleach

COUNCILLOR Liam Blaney is on course to be the county’s next cathaoirleach. The Fianna Fáil representative is expected to replace Sinn Féin’s Jack Murray when his term as mayor comes to an end next month. Councillor Blaney’s position will have to be ratified when members gather for their annual general meeting on June 14. But if he […]

McBrearty elected Cathaoirleach of Lifford/Stranorlar

FRANK McBrearty has been elected Cathaoirleach of the Lifford/Stranorlar Municipal District at the Annual General Meeting this morning. Cllr McBrearty was proposed by Cllr Gerry Crawford and seconded by Cllr Gary Doherty. The Raphoe politician controversially resigned from Fine Gael just days after being elected three week ago. The now independent councillor took over the […]

Nicholas Crossan elected Cathaoirleach of Donegal

INDEPENDENT Councillor Nicholas Crossan has been elected as Cathaoirleach of Donegal County Council at today’s Annual General Meeting in Lifford. The Buncrana politician was proposed by Cllr Ian McGarvey and seconded by Cllr Frank McBrearty. On this day 25 years ago Cllr Crossan was first elected to Buncrana Town Council. Advertisement Killybegs Councillor Niamh Kennedy […]