Stong Donegal presence in Ireland WNT squad

There is a strong Donegal presence in the Republic of Ireland Women’s Team National Squad that has been selected for the UEFA EURO 2025 Qualifiers at home and away to Sweden.

Amber Barrett, Tyler Toland, and Erin McLaughlin, who all hail from the county are included, as is Anna Patten, who is eligible to represent Ireland due to her grandfather who hails from Falcarragh.

Ireland will return to the Aviva Stadium on Friday, May 31st to host the Olympic runners-up in a game where supporters are encouraged to secure their tickets now.


The Girls in Green will take on Sweden for a second time in Group A3 on Tuesday, June 4th as they travel to Stockholm for what will be their 10th meeting overall at senior women’s level.

The Ireland squad will begin preparations for the qualifiers at the FAI National Training Centre from May 27th.

Ireland WNT Squad
Goalkeepers: Courtney Brosnan (Everton), Grace Moloney (London City Lionesses), Sophie Whitehouse (Lewes)

Defenders: Jessie Stapleton (West Ham United), Diane Caldwell (FC Zurich), Louise Quinn (Birmingham City), Caitlin Hayes (Celtic), Anna Patten (Aston Villa), Aoife Mannion (Manchester United), Megan Campbell (London City Lionesses)

Midfielders: Katie McCabe (Arsenal), Denise O’Sullivan (North Carolina Courage), Megan Connolly (Bristol City), Ruesha Littlejohn (London City Lionesses), Tyler Toland (Blackburn Rovers), Lily Agg (Birmingham City), Jess Ziu (West Ham United), Lucy Quinn (Birmingham City), Erin McLaughlin (Peamount United), Eva Mangan (Cork City), Izzy Atkinson (Crystal Palace)

Forwards: Kyra Carusa (San Diego Wave), Leanne Kiernan (Liverpool), Emily Murphy (Wake Forest University), Abbie Larkin (Crystal Palace), Amber Barrett (Standard Liege).

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere

and get access to our archive editions dating back to 2007
Every Thursday
Every Monday

Donegal News is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. St. Anne's Court, Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland