St Eunan’s College are the new MacLarnon Cup champions

_OLS0384 Neil Gordon


St Eunan’s College 1-07 Coláistí Inis Eoghain 1-05

Congratulations to Neil Gordon and the St Eunan’s College team who won the MacLarnon Cup for a fifth time in Armagh this afternoon.
Coláistí Inis Eoghain, who played with a slight breeze, led the Cathedral town men by a point at the interval (1-2 to 0-4) and it was nip and tuck for much of the second half too.
‘Eunan’s edged in front for the first time in the contest on 38 minutes thanks to Sean Hume although three unanswered frees off the boot of Kevin McLaughlin (2) and John Campbell saw Sean Noonan’s side lead by two with three minutes to play.
A Daire McDaid penalty put the Letterkenny side ahead once more and when Niall O’Donnell converted from play the cup was on its way back to St Eunan’s.
Inishowen enjoyed the perfect start to the final through Darach O’Connor, the Jigger raising a green flag inside the first minute. With John Campbell adding a point, Noonan’s team were four to the good inside four minutes.
Two Sean Hume frees and a David Tyrell point had ‘Eunan’s back to within a point by the 20 minute mark.
McLaughlin and Jordan McBride traded scores, leaving Inishowen 1-02 to 0-04 leaders at the break.
As so St Eunan’s proud tradition in the MacLarnon Cup continues but there will be little time to enjoy the victory as they’re back in action – an All-Ireland quarter final – against Colaiste na Carraige

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere

and get access to our archive editions dating back to 2007
Every Thursday
Every Monday

Donegal News is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. St. Anne's Court, Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland