New Donegal Youth Council holds first meeting


THE newly-elected Donegal Youth Council met in the Regional Cultural Centre last Thursday for a team building day as they begin a new two year term.

The Donegal Youth Council, which is made up of young people from all across the county from Carndonagh to Carrick, will meet regularly each month in Letterkenny and also in their local electoral areas to work on identified topics, which will be voted upon at next Wednesday’s Agenda Day in the Clanree Hotel in Letterkenny. The Agenda Day event will see 150 young people from all across the county come together to put forward youth issues, participate in facilitated discussions and then propose and vote on issues they would like to see the Youth Council work on during the next year.

Donegal Youth Council is funded by Donegal County Council, HSE Health Promotion and the Department of Children and Youth Affairs and aims to provide young people with opportunities to identify, prioritise and work on topics and projects which have been identified by the wider youth population of the county and also to provide young people with opportunities to have their voice heard by being involved in the development of local services and policies which affect them.


The newly elected Youth Council for 2014-2016 are:

Megan Skinnader (Loreto Letterkenny)
Niall Hannigan (Colaiste Ailigh Letterkenny)
Nicole Sweeney (Errigal College Letterkenny)
Paddy Gallagher (Mulroy Milford)
Maebh McDaid (Loreto Milford)
Conor Farrell (St Eunan’s Letterkenny)
Sean McGettigan (St Eunan’s Letterkenny)
Jodi Quill (Donegal Travellers Project)
Chloe Dwyer (Donegal Travellers Project)
Emma Egerton (Foroige)
Edward Crawford (Finn Valley College)
Aoife Gillespie (St Columbas College, Stranorlar)
Connor McGinty (Gairmscoil Chu Uladh, Ballinamore)
Eamonn Conaghan (Deele College, Raphoe)
Odhran Shiels (Royal & Prior, Raphoe)
Naomi Bradley (Donegal Youth Service)
Ailbhe McGowan (St Catherines Killybegs)
Eric Byrne (Colaiste na Carraige)
Chloe Kennedy (Abbey VS)
Megan McGee (Magh Ene, Bundoran)
Francis Barron (Colaiste Colmcille, Ballyshannon)
Jade McSparron (Colaiste Chineal Eoghain)
Sean Harkin (Crana College, Buncrana)
Emma Rose Callaghan (Scoil Mhuire, Buncrana)
Erin Faulkner (Moville CC)
Michael White (Carndonagh CS)
Christopher Toner (Youthreach)
Aine McLaughlin (Youthreach)
Niamh Moyne (Foroige)
Hannah Healy (PCC Falcarragh)
Tarlach O’Dochartaigh (Pobalscoil Gaoth Dobhair)
Bridget McDyer (Rosses CS)
David Moore (St Columbas Glenties)
Erin NicEachmharcaigh (Gairmscoil Mhic Diarmaida
Joanne Ni Bhradaigh (Oige na Gaeltachta)
Tim Rene-Runge (Donegal Youth Service)
Maria Ferry (CNN National Executive Representative)

Members of the outgoing Youth Council and the newly elected group will also travel to the Comhairle na nÓg National showcase event in Croke Park, where the group will have a chance to showcase to National politicians about the work they have over the past 2 year. Youth Councillor Louise Boyle from Stranorlar has been identified of one of 3 young people nationally who will speak at the event, which will have Taoiseach Enda Kenny among the special guests.

Donegal Youth Council is co-ordinated at local level by the Donegal Youth Service. For more information you can contact Donegal Youth Council Co-ordinator Marty Keeney on 087-6806676 or email

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere

and get access to our archive editions dating back to 2007
Every Thursday
Every Monday

Donegal News is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. St. Anne's Court, Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland