Gallery: Letterkenny Gaels presentation of awards

Letterkenny Gaels held their annual presentation of awards for their Senior Men and Senior Ladies squads at a function in Arena 7 last Friday night.

The awards for the 2023 season were presented in a host of categories by club secretary, Louisa Tonna and vice-chairperson, James Frain.

James is also part of the management team for the senior ladies and along with team manager, Michael O’Connor they gave an overview of the progress being made within ladies football in the club. 


Michael also gave a run-down on the season for the senior ladies who reached semi-finals in both the league and Junior B Championship.

Paul Melaugh who along with Oisin Cannon is joint senior team manager of the men’s team, also addressed the awards night and noted that his team, while dropping down to Division Three, retained their Intermediate Championship status for another campaign.


The following awards were presented:


Most committed player: Conor Browne

Young Player of the Year: Liam McAlary


Most improved: Neil O’Baoill

Reserve Player of the Year: Jamie Callaghan

Senior Player of the Year: Ronan Frain.



Most improved: Anna Gallagher

Most committed: Alisha Gallagher

Top scorer: Clodagh O’Connor

Players Player of the Year: Ciara McFadden

Team spirit award: Laura Walker

Senior Player of the Year: Louise Doherty

Clodagh O’Connor, pictured with her parents Maureen and Michael.

Louisa Tonna with Reserve team player of the year Jamie Callaghan.

Letterkenny Gaels players at Friday night’s club presentation event in Arena 7.

Ciara McFadden, Senior Ladies Players’ Player of the Year, with Sean and Irene McFadden.

Letterkenny Gaels Senior Men’s Player of the Year Ronan Frain, with his parents James and Bernie.

Louise Doherty, Letterkenny Gaels Senior Ladies Player of the Year, with her dad Diarmaid and sister Aoife.

Letterkenny Gaels club secretary Louisa Tonna presents Conor Browne with his award for Most Committed Player.

Anna Gallagher, Most Improved Player, receives her award from James Frain

Neil O’Baoill is presented with the Most Improved Player award by Louisa Tonna.

Aoife Doherty, Louise Doherty and Niamh Sweeney at Friday night’s event.

Alisha Gallagher receives her Most Committed award from James Frain.

Liam McAlary receives his Senior team Young Player of the Year award from Louisa Tonna.

Laura Walker receives her Team Spirit award from James Frain at the presentation night.

Karen Kelly and Conor Browne at Friday night’s event.

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere

and get access to our archive editions dating back to 2007
Every Thursday
Every Monday

Donegal News is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. St. Anne's Court, Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland