Donegal woman named on Irish rugby team

Ireland's Larissa Muldoon passes the ball.

Ireland’s Larissa Muldoon passes the ball.

THE Ireland Women’s team to play England women in an historic first Autumn International match has been named.
Cappry’s Larissa Muldoon, who plies her trade with Skewen/ Exile, is named at scrum-half while fellow Donegal players Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere/ Leinster) and Katie Norris (Blackrock/ Leinster) are listed among the replacements.

 There are six uncapped players named in the starting XV. Jeamie Deacon and Mairead Coyne are named on the wing with Aine Donnelly starting in the Centre.
Cliodhna Moloney comes into the front row with Elaine Anthony and Ciara Cooney named in the second row.
Speaking ahead of the test, Head Coach Tom Tierney said, “We are looking forward to the game this weekend. It’s the first time we have played an Autumn International which is another step in the development in women’s rugby. We have an opportunity to have a look at some new players and combinations building towards the 6 nations.”
Ireland take on their English counterparts at the Twickenham Stoop on Saturday 14th November with a 3pm Kick off.
Ireland Women’s Squad (ahead of England Women v Ireland Women, The Stoop, Saturday 14th November 2015)
15 Niamh Briggs (UL Bohemian/Munster) Capt
14 Jeamie Deacon (Blackrock/ Leinster)*
13 Aine Donnelly (Cill Dara/ Leinster)*
12 Jackie Shiels (Richmond/ Exiles)
11 Mairead Coyne (Galwegians/ Connacht)*
10 Sene Naoupu (Galwegians/ Connacht)
9 Larissa Muldoon (Skewen/ Exile)
1 Ruth O’Reilly (Galwegians/ Connacht)
2 Cliodhna Moloney (Railway Union/ Leinster)*
3 Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)
4 Elaine Anthony (Highfield/ Munster)*
5 Ciara Cooney (Galwegians/ Connacht)*
6 Sophie Spence (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)
7 Paula Fitzpatrick (Stade Toulousain)
8 Heather O’Brien (Stade Toulousain)
16 Zoe Grattage (Tralee/ Munster)*
17 Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemian/ Munster)
18 Fiona O’Brien (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)
19 Katie Norris (Blackrock/ Leinster)
20 Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/ Leinster)*
21 Mary Healy (Galwegians/ Connacht)*
22 Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)
23 Claire McLaughlin (Queens University/ Ulster)*

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere

and get access to our archive editions dating back to 2007
Every Thursday
Every Monday

Donegal News is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. St. Anne's Court, Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland