And then there were eight Quarter final line-up decided

Kilcar's Ciaran Mc Ginley  against Hugh McFadden of Killybegs

Kilcar’s Ciaran Mc Ginley against Hugh McFadden of Killybegs

THE names of the last eight teams in this year’s Michael Murphy Sports Donegal Senior Football Championship are now known.
Reigning champions Naomh Conaill and Termon were the first two names in the hat for the last eight draw – which takes place tomorrow evening – following home wins against Gaoth Dobhair and Four Masters respectively on Saturday evening.
This afternoon, they were joined by Dungloe, Glenswilly, Kilcar, St Eunan’s, Malin and MacCumhaills.
Glenswilly, who had both Michael Murphy and Neil Gallagher in their starting fifteen, brushed aside the challenge of Bundoran to top Group A where they were joind by runners-up Dungloe who had two points to spare when the full time whistle sounded in their match against Ardara at Rosses Park.
Ardara were awarded a penalty deep into injury time but Ciaran Sharkey proved to be the hero of the hour, diving to his left to make a fine save.
Kilcar led the way in Group B following their comfortable win away to neighbours Killybegs while St Eunan’s finished as runners-up when they had a goal to spare in their winner takes-all game with St Michaels at the Bridge.
Malin top Group C and reach the knock outstages for the second year in succession – they beat Glenfin at home – while MacCumaills complete the quarter final line up.

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere

and get access to our archive editions dating back to 2007
Every Thursday
Every Monday

Donegal News is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. St. Anne's Court, Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland