All-Star nominations for Gallen and McCole

Donegal stars Oisin Gallen and Brendan McCole have been included in the nominations list for the PWC All-Stars.
Both Gallen (Sean MacCumhaill’s) and McCole (St Naul’s) had super seasons in a trying year for Donegal.
They have now been recognised with inclusion in the 45-man nominations list for the prestigious All-Stars.
All-Ireland football champions Dublin have been rewarded with 10 places in this year’s PwC All-Star football nominations. The high-profile list of 45 names is notable for being spread across 13 counties – the largest representative breakdown since 2008.

Congratulating the winners, Uachtarán CLG Larry McCarthy said: “Our expanded football championship format gave us more high-profile games than ever before, and I am delighted to see this reflected in the strong representation in this year’s PwC All-Stars. It was a fantastic campaign, lit up by outstanding displays. The All-Stars is an iconic scheme that celebrates the best of the talents that we are fortunate to have playing our games. Congratulations to all those nominated and especially to David, Brian and Brendan and to Eoin, Ethan and Conor in the overall player categories – a special additional honour for you and your families and clubs. PwC’s continuing support of this scheme is greatly appreciated.”
Tom Parsons, CEO of the GPA added: “What stands out to me in this list of 45 nominees is the number of counties represented.  In total players from 13 counties have made the cut and I think this reflects the nature of our season now where there are more games and more chances for players to impress. Congratulations to all of the nominees and a special word of congratulations to Brian, Brendan and David for their nominations for PwC GAA/GPA Footballer of the Year and to Ethan, Eoin and Conor on being shortlisted for the PwC GAA/GPA Young Footballer of the Year.  You should all be very proud of your achievements.”
Enda McDonagh, Managing Partner, PwC, said: “Sincere congratulations to each of the 45 footballers who have been nominated for a PwC All-Star and also to David, Brian and Brendan, shortlisted for the PwC GAA/GPA Footballer of the Year, and Ethan, Eoin and Conor for their PwC GAA/GPA Young Footballer of the Year nominations, from everyone at PwC. Your outstanding contributions to team performances during the thrilling championship sees you deservingly recognised for your commitment, excellence and dedication. Values we reward and celebrate in PwC.”



Donegal’s Brendan McCole breaks past Roscommon’s Niall Kilroy.

First held in 1971, the PwC All-Stars represents the highest individual accolade in Gaelic Games. The nominations and the final 15 teams are chosen by a panel of Gaelic Games Correspondents from across, print, radio, tv and digital media, in a meeting chaired by Uachtarán CLG. The PwC All-Star teams will be presented with their awards at a gala black-tie event which will be staged in Dublin’s RDS and shown live on RTÉ tv on Friday, November 17. The football winners and the overall Players of the Year will be announced live on the night.


PwC Football All-Star Nominations

Goalkeepers (3)
Rory Beggan (Monaghan)
Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)
Shane Ryan (Kerry)

Defenders (18)
Jason Foley (Kerry)
Tadhg Morley (Kerry)
Tom O’Sullivan (Kerry)
Gavin White (Kerry)
Michael Fitzsimons (Dublin)
Lee Gannon (Dublin)
Brian Howard (Dublin)
Gareth McKinless (Derry)
Conor McCluskey (Derry)
Eoin McEvoy (Derry)
Conor McCarthy (Monaghan)
Karl O’Connell (Monaghan)
Seán Kelly (Galway)
Aidan Forker (Armagh)
Brian Stack (Roscommon)
Padraig Hampsey (Tyrone)
Rory Maguire (Cork)
Brendan McCole (Donegal)
Midfielders (6)
Brian Fenton (Dublin)
James McCarthy (Dublin)
Conor Glass (Derry)
Brendan Rogers (Derry)
Diarmuid O’Connor (Kerry)
Diarmuid O’Connor (Mayo)
Forwards (18)
Colm Basquel (Dublin)
Cormac Costello (Dublin)
Paul Mannion (Dublin)
Con O’Callaghan (Dublin)
David Clifford (Kerry)
Paudie Clifford (Kerry)
Seán O’Shea (Kerry)
Paul Cassidy (Derry)
Shane McGuigan (Derry)
Oisín Gallen (Donegal)
Conor McManus (Monaghan)
Enda Smith (Roscommon)
Darragh Canavan (Tyrone)
Rónán O’Toole (Westmeath)
Andrew Murnin (Armagh)
Jordan Flynn ((Mayo)
Ben McCormack (Kildare)
Damien Comer (Galway)

PwC GAA/GPA Footballer of the Year Nominees
David Clifford (Kerry), Brian Fenton (Dublin), Brendan Rogers (Derry)
PwC GAA/GPA Young Footballer of the Year Nominees
Ethan Doherty (Derry), Eoin McEvoy (Derry), Conor Carroll (Roscommon)


Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere

and get access to our archive editions dating back to 2007
Every Thursday
Every Monday

Donegal News is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. St. Anne's Court, Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland