Winners of Road Safety Art Competition announced

The Donegal Road Safety Working Group and Finn Harps Football Club have announced the winners of the Primary School Road Safety Art Competition. The number of entries received this year, is the largest since the competition was first launched in 2011, which shows how popular and successful the competition is.  The safety of all road users continues to be a priority and once again the standard of drawings submitted was amazing across all ages.

The overall winner was Lydia Byrne, Kilbarron NS, Ballyshannon. The runners up were Charlie Ferry, Holy Trinity NS, Dunfanaghy; Caoimhe Darcy, St.Eunan’s NS, Laghey; Sofia Thompson-Irwin, Scoil Treasa Naofa, Malin; Jade Hyndman, Scoil Mhuire gan Smál, Letterkenny and Aaron Perry, Scoil an Linbh Iosa, Killymard.

The winning entry will feature at Kernan’s Supermarkets, Newtowncunningham, Drumkeen & Ramelton, who sponsor the Finn Harps Academy & Schools Programme. The wonderful array of drawings received shows the creative ability that children in our schools have.


Lydia Byrne, Kilbarron National School Ballyshannon winner of the Donegal County Council Road Safety Poster Competition. Photo Clive Wasson

Brian O’Donnell, Road Safety Officer, Donegal County Council said, “I would like to congratulate all the winners and thank all the schools for again getting behind this very important Road Safety initiative. It is fantastic that the teachers and pupils got so strongly involved and it is my hope that each pupil who took part will have an increased awareness of road safety as a result. The competition reinforces the message of Road Safety, encourages school children to use very detailed drawings to highlight how we keep everyone safe on our roads”.

Kevin McHugh, Finn Harps Football Academy stated, “This competition is very popular with the Primary School children and Finn Harps are delighted to continue to promote road safety awareness in Donegal. It is great to see that the pupils, through their drawings, are contributing to raising awareness of the dangers on our roads”.

Kilbarron teachers and students with Lydia Byrne, Kilbarron National School Ballyshannon winner of the Donegal County Council Road Safety Poster Competition with Brian O’Donnell, Road Safety Officer Donegal County Council, Kevin McHugh, Finn Harps Academy, Shelley Gillespie, Class Teacher and Pricilla Lesley, Principal. Photo Clive Wasson

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere

and get access to our archive editions dating back to 2007
Every Thursday
Every Monday

Donegal News is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. St. Anne's Court, Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland