Name confirmed for new Technological University

THE new Technological University for the North West will open its doors officially on April 1, 2022 and will be called the Atlantic Technological University (Ollscoil Teicheolaíochta an Atlantaigh).

The name has been chosen by Letterkenny Institute of Technology (LYIT), Galway-Mayo IT and Sligo IT, the institutes that applied for TU status.

A comprehensive survey was commissioned by the institutes from external consultants of relevant internal and external stakeholders including most notably the students and staff of the three Institutes.


Minister for Agriculture, Food and the Marine and Donegal TD, Charlie McConalogue said the announcement of a title and establishment date is further progress in this important project.

“While visiting Killybegs recently, I was delighted to meet with Karl Bonner, Education Outreach Manager, at the Killybegs LYIT campus who discussed the great work of the campus including tourism and engineering – this campus, and the greater LYIT campus, will be integral elements of the new Atlantic Technological University,” he said.

Subject to the drafting of the requisite Ministerial order under the Technological Universities Act 2018 by the Office of the Parliamentary Counsel, its laying before and approval by resolution by each House of the Oireachtas, it is proposed that the date on which the three Institutes will be formally dissolved and the Atlantic Technological University established in their place shall be the 1 April 2022.

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere

and get access to our archive editions dating back to 2007
Every Thursday
Every Monday

Donegal News is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. St. Anne's Court, Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland