Naomh Conaill win 2020 County Final on penalties

Kilcar 0-13 Naomh Conaill 2-7 (NC win 4-2 on penalties)

Naomh Conaill are the 2020 Donegal SFC champions after they defeated Kilcar 4-2 on penalties at the end of an absorbing contest at Mac Cumhaill Park this evening.

The sides were level at the first water break before Ciaran Thompson netted a penalty for Naomh Conaill in the 20th minute after Charlie McGuinness was fouled.


Kilcar hit the next three scores with Patrick McBrearty, Matthew McClean, and Ryan McHugh on target and that left it 0-6 to 1-3 at half-time

Patrick McBrearty scored two points in the third quarter, but that was cancelled out by efforts from Naomh Conaill’s McGuinness and Kevin McGettigan.

Ciaran Thompson and Ciaran McGinley swapped scores, before Naomh Conaill landed a goal in the 55th minute when Kevin McGettigan fired to the net from close range.

Kilcar responded well to that setback and frees from Patrick McBrearty (2) and Mark McHugh sent the game to extra-time.

Ciaran Thompson pushed Naomh Conaill back in front with a huge score but Patrick McBrearty equalised with a free in the 74th minute.

That proved to be the final score of the match and it was left to penalties to decide the outcome.

Charlie McGuinness, John O’Malley, and Dermot Molloy scored for Naomh Conaill, while Brendan McDyer sent his effort wide.


Patrick McBrearty and Matthew McClean both converted for Kilcar but Ryan and Mark McHugh saw their efforts brilliantly saved by Stephen McGrath.

Ciaran Thompson then converted Naomh Conaill’s fifth penalty and that meant they got to lift the Dr Maguire Cup.

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere

and get access to our archive editions dating back to 2007
Every Thursday
Every Monday

Donegal News is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. St. Anne's Court, Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland