Cullen and McVeigh named on Champion 15 selection

Donegal hurling stars Danny Cullen and Sean McVeigh have both been named on the 2020 GAA/GPA Champion 15 team.

The selecton honours the best hurlers from the 2020 Christy Ring, Nickey Rackard, and Lory Meagher Cups.

St Eunan’s clubman and Donegal captain McVeigh has been named at corner-back while Setanta’s Cullen is at left-half back.


Cullen has also been named as the GAA/GPA Nickey Rackard Cup Player of the Year. He performed heroics in the middle of the park for Donegal during their successful pursuit of the Nickey Rackard Cup, and showed real leadership in a dramatic Final victory over Mayo by hitting some crucial points when they were needed most.

The selection process for the GAA/GPA 2020 Champion 15 included player and coach feedback and was finalised by an independent selection committee of journalists and referees.

A special programme to honour the GAA/GPA Champion 15 will be featured on RTÉ 2fm’s Game On programme this Wednesday evening from 6pm.

GAA/GPA Champion 15

1: Stephen Keith (Down) – Christy Ring Cup
2: Sean McVeigh (Donegal) – Nickey Rackard Cup
3: Caolan Taggart (Down) – Christy Ring Cup
4: Cathal Freeman (Mayo) – Nickey Rackard Cup
5: Conor McShea (Fermanagh) – Lory Meagher Cup
6: Rian Boran (Kildare) – Christy Ring Cup
7: Danny Cullen (Donegal) – Nickey Rackard Cup
8: Eoghan Cahill (Offaly) – Christy Ring Cup
9: Paul Divilly (Kildare) – Christy Ring Cup
10: Damian Casey (Tyrone) – Nickey Rackard Cup
11: James Burke (Kildare) – Christy Ring Cup
12: Shane Boland (Mayo) – Nickey Rackard Cup
13: Jack Sheridan (Kildare) – Christy Ring Cup
14: Andrew Mackin (Louth) – Lory Meagher Cup
15: Christy Moorehouse (Wicklow) – Christy Ring Cup

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere

and get access to our archive editions dating back to 2007
Every Thursday
Every Monday

Sean McVeigh has been one of Donegal's most talented and consistent hurlers for the last decade.


Donegal News is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. St. Anne's Court, Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland