Final boxes in the Stranorlar area being counted

THE remaining boxes in the Stranorlar electoral area are now being counted and Sinn Fein’s Pearse Doherty is now well ahead of the pack with 20, 697 first preferences followed by his party colleague Padraig Mac Lochlainn (13,751).

Fianna Fail’s Charlie McConalogue is on 8,254 followed by Fine Gael’s Joe McHugh (7,536), Fianna Fail’s Pat the Cope Gallagher (7,403), Independent Thomas Pringle (5,434) and Independent John O’Donnell (4,705).

It will all be down to transfers but at this stage it looks likely that Pringle will fight it out for the final seat with either Gallagher or McHugh although Gallagher is expected to receive a significant amount of Pearse Doherty’s transfers.


Donegal News is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. St. Anne's Court, Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland