Counting turns to south Donegal

COUNTING has now turned to South Donegal at the Aura Leisure Centre where Sinn Fein’s Padraig Mac Lochlainn has  more than doubled his vote from 2016.

Mac Lochlainn is now on 12,278 first preferences with party members saying they expect the Buncrana politician and Pearse Doherty (9,747) to be elected on the first count. Fianna Fail’s Charlie McConalogue is on 7,742 followed by Fine Gael’s Joe McHugh on 5,981.

The first count is expected at around 6pm.


Peter Casey (Ind) – 898

Pearse Doherty (SF) – 9,747

Pat The Cope Gallagher (FF)– 2,908

Martin Harley (FG)– 1,185

Padraig Mac Lochlainn (SF)– 12,278

Charlie McConalogue (FF) – 7,742

Niall McConnell (Ind) – 390


Arthur McGuinness (Ind) – 133

Joe McHugh (FG) – 5,981

John O’Donnell (Ind) – 4,015

Thomas Pringle (Ind) – 4,183

Mary T Sweeney (Aontu) – 1,708

Michael White (Green) 1,317


Donegal News is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. St. Anne's Court, Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland