Martin and Dunnion step into new roles

By Frank Craig

Declan Martin is the new county secretary following his unopposed election last night in Ballybofey.

The popular Naomh Muire clubman moves on following the completion of a five-year term as assistant secretary. He replaces another outgoing officer, Aideen Gillen.


I wish Declan all the best,” said CCC chairman Frankie Doherty. “I worked with him for the last four years and there was never a bad word between any of us.

I would go as far as to say as we were the best CCC in the country. Whoever comes in to follow him will be following a hard act.”

The battle to replace Seamus Ó Domhnaill in the Central Council delegate’s chair was much more interesting.

Dunnion – an ex-county chairman – was up against both PJ McGowan and Ed Byrne.

In the first tally, Byrne took 66 first preference votes while Dunnion registered 58. McGowan, who earned 37, was subsequently eliminated.

The MacCumahills clubman’s total was redistributed and, as a result of the second count, Dunnion was finally elected 80 to 76.

Speaking after, Dunnion said: “I’d like to thank my club for nominating me and all the people that encouraged me to go forward.

I really want to thank the clubs and the delegates that supported me here tonight. It’s really appreciated. It’s been a hard campaign. I think the closeness there of it showed that it was competitive and competitive in the right spirit.

Finally, I’d like to thank Seamus for his work over the last five years. Seamus represented the county extremely well in Croke Park. I hope to be able to take on that mantle now on behalf of the county.”

Chairman Mick McGrath, Vice Chairman Frankie Doherty, Treasurer Alan Boyd, Assistant Treasurer Paddy Tinney, PRO John McEniff, Development Officer David McLoone and Oifigeach Gaeilge agues Cultúir Fergus McGee were also all returned unopposed on Wednesday night. 

2020 Donegal GAA Executive 

Chairman: Mick McGrath

Vice Chairman: Frankie Doherty

Secretary: Declan Martin

Assistant Secretary: Vacant

Treasurer: Alan Boyd

Assistant Treasurer: Paddy Tinney

PRO: John McEniff

Development Officer: David McLoone

Children’s Officer: Vacant

Oifigeach Gaeilge agus Cultúir: Fergus McGee

Coaching Officer: Conor McDermott

Central Council Delegate: Sean Dunnion

Ulster Council Delegates: Seamus Ó Domhnaill, PJ McGowan

Delegate to Ulster Convention: Brendan Kelly

Delegate to National Congress: Frankie Doherty


Donegal News is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. St. Anne's Court, Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland