Donegal crowned Division 2 League Champions

Donegal 1-17 Meath 1-15

DONEGAL overcame a sluggish start to defeat Meath and get their hands on the Division 2 league title this evening in Croke Park.

Meath were much the better team in the opening exchanges and a Thomas O’Reilly goal helped them into a 1-6 to 0-1 lead by the 14th minute.


Donegal did steady after that, and a brace of points from Oisin Gallen and Jamie Brennan brought their deficit back to three in the 31st minute.

However, Cillian O’Sullivan and Thomas O’Reilly landed points in injury-time and Meath led by 1-10 to 0-8 at the break.

The second half was nip-and-tuck, but Donegal got into their stride midway through the half with great scores from Niall O’Donnell, Michael Murphy and Gallen.

Bonner’s men then hit the front in the 58th minute when Jamie Brennan finished off a superb team move.

Donegal played keep ball in the closing exchanges and 13 minutes passed without a score before Murphy converted a free in injury-time.

O’Sullivan did reply with a late free for Meath but Donegal closed the game out to secure the silverware.


Donegal News is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. St. Anne's Court, Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland