Ryan McHugh completes a superb family hat-trick

Ryan McHugh celebrates after scoring Donegal's first goal.

Ryan McHugh celebrates after scoring Donegal’s first goal.

RYAN McHugh has been named in the 2016 GAA-GPA All-Star football team announced earlier today.
The Kilcar student and the other members of the team will be honoured at a gala event in Dublin’s convention Centre tomorrow night, Friday.
Ryan is one of eight first-time winners, joining Clarke, Harrison, Cooper Harte, Rock, Quinlivan and Geaney, and he follows in the footsteps of his older brother Mark (2012), father Martin (1983 and 1992), and uncle James (1992) in winning an All-Star.
The All-Star team includes six from All-Ireland champions Dublin and four from beaten finalists Mayo. There are two award winners from Ulster champions Tyrone with one player apiece from Donegal, Tipperary and Kerry.

2016 GAA/GPA All-Star Football Team of the Year


1. David Clarke (Mayo)

2. Brendan Harrison (Mayo)
3. Jonny Cooper (Dublin)
4. Philly McMahon (Dublin)

5. Lee Keegan (Mayo)
6. Colm Boyle (Mayo)
7. Ryan McHugh (Donegal)

8. Brian Fenton (Dublin)
9. Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone)

10. Peter Harte (Tyrone)
11. Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin)
12. Ciaran Kilkenny (Dublin)

13. Dean Rock (Dublin)
14. Michael Quinlivan (Tipperary)
15. Paul Geaney (Kerry)


Donegal News is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. St. Anne's Court, Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland