ASTI strikes will not affect Donegal ETB schools


THE Chief Executive of Donegal ETB has stressed that its 15 secondary schools and five Youthreach Centres will not be impacted by any of the proposed strike action.

Ms Anne McHugh was speaking after the announcement by the Association of Secondary Teachers of Ireland (ASTI) that a series of seven one-day strikes is due to take place next week.

She pointed out that the majority of teachers who work in the schools and centres under the management of Donegal ETB are members of the Teachers’ Union of Ireland (TUI).


The TUI negotiated the implementation of revised salary arrangements over two phases in 2017 and 2018.

The effect of this will be to assimilate new entrants to teaching onto a single new salary scale which will incorporate the honours primary degree allowance.

Meanwhile, ASTI members have voted overwhelmingly to take industrial action over lower pay for recently qualified teachers and the worsening of ASTI members’ terms and conditions.

“We are delighted that the TUI, the union representing teachers within our schools, has negotiated a package with the Department of Education and Skills,” explained Ms McHugh.

“We are also pleased that our schools have embraced the implementation of the new Junior Cycle and that all our students are currently studying the new syllabi and presenting work for the new forms of assessment. I want to acknowledge the professionalism of our teachers in responding to change within our schools. I am also pleased that there will be no disruption to our education service for all our students and their parents.”

The first cohort of Junior Cycle students studying the revised syllabus in English will sit the examination paper devised by the State Examinations Commission in June 2017 in all of the 15 Donegal ETB schools.

This will be followed by new examinations in science and business studies in June 2018 and other subjects in a phased roll out in subsequent years.


There are in total 27 post primary schools in Donegal. The 15 schools under the management of Donegal ETB and who will not be affected by the strike actions are: Abbey Vocational School, Donegal town; Coláiste Ailigh, Letterkenny; Coláiste na Carraige, Carrick, Glencolmcille; Coláiste Phobail Cholmcille, Tory Island; Crana College, Buncrana; Deele College, Raphoe; Errigal College, Letterkenny; Finn Valley College, Stranorlar; Gaelcholaiste Chineál, Buncrana; Gairmscoil Mhic Diarmada, Arranmore Island; Gairmscoil Chú Uladh, Ballinamore, Cloghan; Magh Ene College, Bundoran; Moville Community College; Mulroy College, Milford and St Catherine’s Vocational School, Killybegs.

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere

and get access to our archive editions dating back to 2007
Every Thursday
Every Monday

Donegal News is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. St. Anne's Court, Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland