MacCumhaills reach semi-finals at Feile

Sean MacCumhaills at Feile

Sean MacCumhaills at Feile

SEAN MacCumhaills reached the semi-finals in Division 2 of Feile Peil na nÓg in Mayo at the weekend.

The Twin Towns side blazed their way through the group stages, defeating Shamrock Gaels, Ballaghaderreen and Naomh Eanna, scoring 15 goals and 18 points in their three group games.


After defeating Oran in the quarter-finals on Saturday evening, they were narrowly beaten by the eventual winners, All Saints from Ballymena, in the semi-final on Sunday.

In Ballintubber on Friday, they scored a 4-7 to 1-3 win over Sligo outfit Shamrock Gaesl, before beating Wexford’s Naomh Eanna 5-5 to 1-3.

On Saturday, they defeated their host club Ballaghaderreen 6-6 to 1-6.

Their quarter-final pitted them against Oran from Roscommon and again they were goal crazy, scoring a 6-7 to 1-2 win.

On Sunday morning Ballaghaderreen clubman and Mayo star Andy Moran visited the young MacCumhaills panel in their hotel and gave them a talk. Before their departure, Donegal captain Michael Murphy imparted a few words of wisdom.

In the final, MacCumhaills were beaten by a goal, as All Saints from Ballymena took a 1-4 to 0-4 win – they defeated Portlaoise in the final.

Over the weekend, MacCumhaills had several big performances, not least from Luke Gavigan against Oran on Saturday evening. Gavigan gave a mesmerising display to spur his side to victory.


Others to star included Chad McSorely, Oisin Gallen, Jamie Keegan, Matthew Doherty and Aaron Gillooley. MacCumhaills were managed by Luke Gavigan who was assisted by Damian Devanney and Ciaran Gillooley.

Sean MacCumhaills panel: Ciaran Foy, Matthew Doherty, Kieran Barron, Shane Griffin, Aaron Gillooley, Joe Boyle, Austin Duignam, Luke Gavigan, Chad McSorely, Anthony Bruton, Jamie Keegan, Conor Doherty, Joel Bradley-Walsh, Oisin Gallen, Alex McGeehan, Adam Dunnion, Karl Doherty, Joey Laverty, Anthony Gallagher, Sean O’Donnell, Shane Rowan, Jack Burke, Conor McCormack, Niall Gallen, Fintan Doherty, Dylan Crossan, Darragh McCafferty, Pete Byrne, Cael Gallagher, Jordan Gallagher, Eoin Gillespie, Cian Gallen, Ciaran Traynor, Shane Carlin, Cahill Maguire.

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere

and get access to our archive editions dating back to 2007
Every Thursday
Every Monday

Donegal News is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. St. Anne's Court, Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland