Illistrin U14s on the double


Illistrin United 5
Bonagee United 0

Seamus Devine’s outfit clinched the Letterkenny & District Double when they defeated a young but gallant Bonagee side at a very impressive looking Leckview Park on Tuesday evening.

Illistrin have now played 25 games between league and cup and have a 100 per cent record. They started at a furious pace and had the John Lafferty / Liam Haughey Dry Arch team on the back foot.


Only for a great defensive display by the Bonagee team led brilliantly by Peter McEniff who kept the normally reliable Illistrin forwards quite in the first half.

Only 5 minutes had gone when speedy forward Jordan Ryan beat the offside trap but shot straight at Ronan Dorrian in the Bonagee goals.

Niall Hannigan hit the crossbar from a corner kick before Bonagee striker Tom Mullen nearly got through only for a great challenge from the towering Darragh McWalters.

It took 32mins before Illistrin took the lead when Blaney scored after great work by Patrick McColgan down the right.

The second half had only started when Blaney chipped the keeper after a through ball from Ryan who then scored his side’s third goal.

Sub Eoin McGeehin then collected a pass from fellow sub Matthew McGovern and side-footed to the net to make it four and midfielder Louis Hassan ended the scoring when he scored from 12 yards.

Illistrin will now be going for the treble when they resume to play in the Champions League after the Kennedy Cup is over.


For Bonagee, they can hold their heads high after a fantastic defensive display in the first half.
Best for Illistrin were Shane Blaney, Jordan Ryan and Adam Byrne

Best for Bonagee were Peter McEniff, Tom Mullen and Aaron McGlynn

Illistrin United: A Deeney, P McColgan, A Byrne, C McWalters, C McCloskey, N Hannigan, S Blaney, C O’Reilly, J Ryan, D Faulkner, L Hassen (Subs) C Gormley, M McGovern, D Doherty, O McGeehin, R McGeehin, M Durning, D Ferry, J Byrne, B Frimsong, F McGarvey

Bonagee United: R Dorrian, J Angel, C Farrell, P McEniff, D Farren, O Purdy, J Carolan, R Dennehy, T Mullen, A Wasson, C Daffon (Subs) A McGlynn, S Lafferty, M Lagan, O Donnelly, J Clarke.

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere

and get access to our archive editions dating back to 2007
Every Thursday
Every Monday

O’Reilly is currently a member of the Finn Harps U17 squad and will remain with Declan Boyle’s outfit until...

Shane, who celebrates his nineteenth birthday next week, will now train hard to earn his chance at the Yorkshire...


Donegal News is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. St. Anne's Court, Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland