Glenswilly-Gaoth Dobhair the stand-out tie

Delegates and officials at today's club championship draws in Derrybeg. Photo by Donna McBride.


GLENSWILLY could hardly have been handed a tougher start to the defence of their Donegal SFC crown – this afternoon, the Pairc Naomh Columba side were paired with Gaoth Dobhair in the first round of the 2012 Donegal senior championship.


In the draw, conducted at the RTE Raidio na Gaeltachta studios in Derrybeg, the clash of Gaoth Dobhair and Glenswilly is most certainly the stand-out tie. Glenswilly will begin the title defence in Magheragallon in what is a repeat of a quarter-final in 2010, won by Glenswilly in Letterkenny.

Yet again, Glenswilly have been handed one of the plum ties in the first round. They have had a tough recent history in the opening round of the championship having met three derby rivals Naomh Conaill, Glenfin and St Eunan’s in recent years at the first hurdle.

Now they’re involved in what is the big game of the first round. Both sides are under new management this year. Manus McFadden has taken over the champions while Gaoth Dobhair – whose last Championship triumph was in 2006 – are expected to ratify a four-man team of Declan Kelly, Tom Beag Gillespie, Alan Boyd and Martin Boyle at their reconvened AGM tonight.

Dungloe and Cloughaneely have been drawn together in a North-West Donegal derby with the 2011 Intermediate Champions St Naul’s handed a real baptism of fire on their return to the senior ranks with a clash with the 2010 senior kings Naomh Conaill. Last year’s finalists, St Michael’s, have been handed a repeat of last year’s first round game with MacCumhaills while Kilcar and Malin battle it out in a preliminary round game with St Eunan’s awaiting the victors.

In the Intermediate Championship, Naomh Columba, beaten in last year’s final, will renew rivalry with Naomh Colmcille in a repeat of their semi-final from 2011, and Termon’s drop to the Intermediate ranks sees them awaiting the winners of a preliminary round game between Urris and Naomh Mhuire. Burt are back up in Intermediate after winning last year’s Junior title – and they face a ferocious all-Inishowen clash against Buncrana.

Beaten Junior finalists in 2011, Naomh Padraig of Lifford, will take on Milford in the preliminary round – the winners will take on Muff – while in the U21 A Championship, holders Kilcar have been handed a mouth-watering derby test against Killybegs in the first round.




Preliminary Round

Kilcar v Malin

First Round

Naomh Conaill v St Naul’s

St Eunan’s v Kilcar/Malin

St Michael’s v Sean MacCumhaill’s

Bundoran v Glenfin

Ardara v Four Masters

Dungloe v Cloughaneely

Fanad Gaels v Killybegs

Gaoth Dobhair v Glenswilly



Preliminary Round

Urris v Naomh Mhuire

Buncrana v Burt



Termon v Urris/Naomh Mhuire

Carndonagh v Buncrana/Burt

Naomh Columba v Naomh Colmcille

Naomh Brid v Aodh Ruadh



Preliminary Round

Naomh Ultan v Red Hughs

Letterkenny Gaels v Robert Emmet’s

Milford v Naomh Padraig, Lifford



Naomh Padraig, Muff v Milford/Naomh Padraig, Lifford

Na Rossa v Convoy

Naomh Ultan/Red Hughs v Downings

Letterkenny Gaels/Robert Emmet’s v Moville



Preliminary Round

Milford v Moville

Naomh Padraig, Muff v Robert Emmet’s

Glenfin v Glenswilly


First Round

Glenfin/Glenswilly v Na Rossa

Naomh Padraig, Muff/Robert Emmet’s v Downings

St Eunan’s v Milford/Moville

Convoy v Sean MacCumhaills

Ardara v Letterkenny Gaels

St Michael’s v Naomh Padraig, Lifford

Naomh Columba v Pettigo

Naomh Ultan v Naomh Conaill


Preliminary Round

Bundoran v Naomh Conaill

St Eunan’s v Gaoth Dobhair

St Naul’s v Dungloe

Fanad Gaels v St Michael’s


First Round

Malin v Cloughaneely

Milford v St Naul’s/Dungloe

Ardara v Bundoran/Naomh Conaill

Fanad Gaels/St Michael’s v Glenfin

St Eunan’s/Gaoth Dobhair v MacCumhaills

Killybegs v Kilcar

Four Masters v Naomh Mhuire

Letterkenny Gaels v Glenswilly



First Round

Naomh Brid v Burt

Naomh Colmcille v Aodh Ruadh

Robert Emmets v Naomh Padraig, Lifford

Moville v Buncrana

Termon v Carndonagh

Downings v Naomh Columba

Byes: Convoy and Red Hughs

The Glenties native has captured images from thousands of games for local and national publications, including the Donegal News,...

Donegal have been without a Cisteoir since July when St Naul's clubman Cieran Kelly stepped down, and the Executive...

Oisin Crawford gives us an insight into the Glenswilly dressing room


Donegal News is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. St. Anne's Court, Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland