Deputy Joe McHugh named as new government Chief Whip

DEPUTY Joe McHugh is the government’s Chief Whip. The Carrigart man was handed the role by new Taoiseach Leo Varadkar following this evening’s cabinet reshuffle.
The former Diaspora Minster will also be Minster for the Gaeltacht.

The new cabinet

Department of Finance and Department of Public Expenditure & Reform: Paschal Donohoe
Department of Justice & Equality: Charlie Flanagan
Department of Enterprise & Innovation: Frances Fitzgerald
Department of Employment & Social Protection: Regina Doherty
Department of Education & Skills: Richard Bruton
Department of Housing, Planning & Local Government: Eoghan Murphy
Department of Children & Youth Affairs: Katherine Zappone
Department of Health: Simon Harris
Department of Foreign Affairs & Trade (with special responsibility for Brexit): Simon Coveney
A new Department of Culture: Heather Humphreys
Department of Agriculture, Food & the Marine: Michael Creed
A new Department of Community & Rural Affairs: Michael Ring
Department of the Transport, Tourism & Sport: Shane Ross
Department of Communications, Climate Action & Environment: Denis Naughten
Minister of State at the Department of Education with special responsibility for Higher Education: Mary Mitchell O’Connor
Minister of State (Defence): Paul Kehoe
Minister of State (Disability Issues): Finian McGrath

DONEGAL TD and Government Chief Whip Joe McHugh has announced €230,000 is to be invested in the county’s library...

  On his visit on Saturday last to the North West region Taoiseach Leo Varadkar T.D. confirmed his commitment...

  The start of the 70% advance of the Basic Payment Scheme (BPS) will benefit over 7,400 farmers in...


Donegal News is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. St. Anne's Court, Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland