Masters success for McNulty and Donegal veterans

Donegal manager John McNulty with Paul and Charlie Gallagher

Donegal manager John McNulty with Paul and Charlie Gallagher

Irish TV Gaelic Masters Shield Final




By Chris Doherty

The Donegal Masters marked their return to the Masters fold in 2016 with a hard fought and well-earned victory over newcomers Offaly in the Irish TV Gaelic Masters Shield Final in Clonberne, Co. Galway on Saturday afternoon ending a 13 year draught of Silverware at this level.

The first half showed how both teams were well matched for each other on the day with a stalemate in place at half time. Both teams really got stuck into each other well with scoring chances hard to come by.

Offaly were first off the mark pointing from play on 7 minutes but Kilcar’s Davis McShane levelled things 3 minutes later. Offaly hit the next two points and had a 2 point lead going on 15 minutes. Donegal were causing problems and when Master’s Captain Gerard Mc Grenra nearly connected after a David Mc Shane long ball in there was certainly a sense of panic in the Offaly backline but it was dealt with.

John Anthony Mc Mullan was sent to the side line for a yellow card (equivalent to a black card in Masters football) and was replaced by Four Master’s man Benny Cassidy who would chip in with two vital points.

St. Eunan’s John Haran hit point number 2 for the masters on 15 minutes and Gerard Mc Grenra would hit the third point 2 minutes later from a well worked free to restore parity. This was Glenswilly man Mc Grenra’s first point of a tally of 4 and he would go on to lift the man of the match award for his contribution. Offaly rattled over a free and Mc Grenra responded 3 minutes later again and his club mate Charlie Bonner point number 5.


Offaly responded with a duo of points themselves from play but that man again Mc Grenra knocked over a very fine score to level up the half with John Haran having a chance to put one point between the sides going into half time but his shot narrowly going wide.

Half time score: Donegal………..0.06 Offaly………..….0.06

The second half really told a different story to the first and within 6 minutes of the restart points from Mc Grenra after a strong run down the right wing was rewarded with another superb score and it set the scene for things to come. John Haran found Benny Cassidy and the Four Master’s man applied the finish to point over.

Offaly did reply soon after but were stung when Donegal went on to record 5 more points before they were able to respond. David Mc Shane added his second point and the Four Master’s duo of Charlie Gallagher and Benny Cassidy added the fourth point when the latter completed the former’s move in a blistering opening 10 minutes that played its part in ensuring the Donegal team went home as champions.

Charlie Gallagher’s efforts for the day were rewarded before his withdrawal when his long range pass into the full forward line bounced awkwardly for the goalkeeper and his own man but luckily it had the height and accuracy to sail over the bar.

John Haran completed his own scoring for the day with a score on 42 minutes and the momentum was clearly on the Donegal men’s side at this stage. Offaly to their credit were not going to let the game get totally out of reach and started to apply intense pressure for the remaining 10 minutes. An absolute screamer of a point from Benny Cassidy finished out the scoring on the Donegal end for the day and all the points came from play.

Sean Mc Daid of Urris was called into action at the other side when he pulled off an important block on an Offaly attack and Naomh Columba’s Martin Gillespie was busy for the remaining final 6 minutes. Offaly had a great chance to net a goal and claw the Donegal lead back to 3 points but the effort went over for a point with the Donegal side’s defence applying the necessary pressure and presence.

Offaly did go on to hit over another 2 points from play entering into injury time but the wonderful second half start that Donegal made had ensured the Shield would be heading up to Donegal.

Donegal Masters: Martin Gillespie, Charlie Doherty, Kevin Mc Gettigan, John Anthony Mc Mullan, Sean Mc Daid, Eamon Doherty, Michael Mc Shane, David Mc Shane (0.2), Charlie Gallagher (0.1), Charlie Bonner (0.1), Gerard Mc Grenra (0.4), Paul Mc Glynn, Dan Branley, John Haran (0.2), Sean Boyce
Substitutions: Benny Cassidy (0.3) for John Anthony Mc Mullan, Shane Mc Clafferty for Sean Boyce, Paul Gallagher for Charlie Gallagher
Unused Subs: Liam Breen, Stephen Moss, Ross Brady, Martin McShane, Stephen Walls, James McBride, Adrian McGettigan, Charlie McGinty, Val Murray, Johnny McGinty, Joe Boyle


Donegal News is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. St. Anne's Court, Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland