CONVOY Orange Hall officially re-opened its doors on Saturday – two years after being destroyed in an arson attack.
The hall was targeted by arsonists in a malicious attack in October 2014. The blaze occurred only weeks after Newtowncunningham Orange hall was destroyed in a similar incident.
Brethren from Thiepval Memorial LOL 1005 were joined at Saturday’s formal reopening and dedication service by senior Orangemen, including the Grand Master of the Grand Orange Lodge of Ireland, Mr Edward Stevenson.
Also in attendance were Deputy Grand Master Harold Henning and Grand Chaplain Rev Mervyn Gibson, who officiated the religious service.
The property is both larger and better equipped than its predecessor, which was built in 1930.
It incorporates a meeting room, a room for band practice and extra storage. It also provides sporting amenities for young people, as well as broadband facilities.
Convoy Worshipful Master, Mr Alan Laird, expressed his delight at the completion of the two-year rebuilding project.
“The opening of our new hall is a tremendous accomplishment for all those associated with this substantial rebuild project,” he said.
“The upgraded hall has been built for the use of the local community with the long term in mind. We trust it will be utilised not only by the lodge and pipe band, but also the young people of the area. We are confident the property will be a wonderful asset for east Donegal for generations to come.”
Mr Laird also commended members of the Loyal Orders from across Ireland and Britain who contributed to the Convoy hall appeal, set up in the aftermath of the arson attack.
Mr Stevenson offered his congratulations to the members of the Convoy lodge at the official opening.
“It is tremendous to see this community facility rise again from the ashes and fully restored to its former glory,” The Grand Master said.
“Its renewed and improved presence is testament to the fortitude and resilience of the Protestant and Orange fraternity in the Donegal area. The lodge has a proud military heritage, most notably during the Great War, and therefore it is particularly fitting that such a redevelopment occur in this, the centenary year of the Battle of the Somme.
“The new Convoy hall will stand as not only a tribute to those former members, but also in its everyday operation will provide a lasting legacy for future generations.”
Convoy lodge was formed in 1919 as a lasting memorial to local men who died during the ‘Great War’.
The original hall was named the Thiepval Memorial Orange Hall in 1930.
Many from the local area fought for the British during the First World War in the Army, Navy and Air Force. Some of their descendants are members of the lodge today.
Also in attendance at Saturday’s event was Samuel Parker. The Larne man played a prominent role in the reopening as his late father, Samuel Snr, led a team of voluntary workers who built the original hall which lasted until the attack in 2014.
Mr Parker laid the corner stone of the new hall during the construction phase, which commenced earlier this year.
The HSE wishes to announce that new Primary Care Centres at Donegal Town and Dunfanaghy are being progressed...
Promoting sustainable access to uplands and natural environments is what the ASCENT project is looking to achieve and...