‘Group of Death’ in 2016 Donegal SFC

Seamus Mac Geidigh, Aideen Gillen, Frankie Doherty, and Cieran Kelly at today's draw.

Seamus Mac Geidigh, Aideen Gillen, Frankie Doherty, and Cieran Kelly at today’s draw.

Three of the big-hitters in the Michael Murphy Sports & Leisure Donegal Senior Football Championship have been drawn together in the group stages.

St Eunan’s, Kilcar, and St Michael’s will all go head-to-head, and Killybegs will join them in Group B – the group of death.


Reigning champions Naomh Conaill have been drawn in Group D, along with Termon, Gaoth Dobhair, and Four Masters.

Glenswilly will fancy their chances of making it through to the knockout stages, after they were pitted against Dungloe, Bundoran, and Ardara, while Group C will also be highly competitive as four Division 2 sides – Malin, MacCumhaills, Glenfin and Naomh Muire – go up against each other.

Milford and Gaeil Fhanada will renew acquaintances in the Intermediate Championship, as they have both been drawn in Group A with St Naul’s and Carndonagh.

Cloughaneely, Aodh Ruadh, Naomh Ultan and Naomh Colmcille will battle it out in Group B, while Naomh Brid, Burt, Buncrana, and Naomh Columba will all look to progress from Group C.

In the Junior ‘A’ Championship, Urris, Na Rossa, Convoy, and Letterkenny Gaels make up a tough-looking Group A, while Downings will be expected to make it through Group B where they will encounter Pettigo, Robert Emmetts, and Moville.

Naomh Padraig, Muff, Red Hugh’s and Naomh Padraig, Lifford will all fancy their chances of progressing from Group C.

There is a great rivalry between the two clubs

Mary Gordon was a natural-born leader and the obvious choice to captain the Donegal team to take the field...

Over the course of last weekend, more than 1,500 people in 800 tents, 600 cars and thirty camper vans...


Donegal News is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. St. Anne's Court, Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland