The Donegal News and Letterkenny Chamber of Commerce are delighted to launch the eagerly anticipated 2017 Letterkenny Business Awards. The Awards aim to celebrate local business dedication, commitment and success and in particular those who show initiative, business acumen and a great determination to grow the local economy.

Eddie and Annette Tobin with Pat the Cope Gallagher, TD.

Eddie Tobin, the 2016 Business Person of the Year, pictured with Pat the Cope Gallagher, TD and Annette Tobin.



Businesses can now enter any of the ten awards on offer and recipients will be announced at the Gala Awards Night in the Radisson Blu Hotel on Friday 10th November 2017. By entering you can raise your profile, prove your excellence, acknowledge your team efforts and impress partners and clients. The full list of awards is detailed in the box on this page.


With the past five years being such a huge success for the joint Letterkenny Chamber and Donegal News awards, Gerard McCormick, Letterkenny Chamber of Commerce President paid recognition to the standing of the awards within the local community:

“We are delighted once again this year to be launching our business awards with the Donegal News. There is a wide range of awards up for grabs and the event is a great celebration of the achievements of the Letterkenny and Donegal Business Community. Our gala awards night has become a highly significant business event and this year we anticipate a very high level of interest in the awards. Once again Letterkenny Chamber and the Donegal News are extremely grateful to our sponsors for supporting another successful awards initiative.”

Highlighting the benefits of the Awards, Columba Gill, Donegal News editor, stated “this is a great opportunity for Letterkenny businesses to enter a local awards initiative that will recognise and reward, success, talent and all that’s good about business in the area. The Donegal News team is delighted to be partnering with Letterkenny Chamber to run the Business Awards, guaranteeing coverage of the event and profiling of shortlisted entries.”


With the awards launched, individuals and businesses are invited to enter via www.donegalnews.com. After the closing date, 18th August, the judging panel will then shortlist with guaranteed free publicity for all the nominees in advance of the gala awards night and also at the big night itself. Self and third party nominations are welcome for all award categories.


For further information on any of the above please contact Toni Forrester, Letterkenny Chamber on 074 9124866 or email: toni@letterkennychamber.com.

The Awards

Retailer of the Year Award, sponsored by Dillon’s Hotel

Business Excellence Award, sponsored by Highland Radio

Best Innovation Award, sponsored by LYIT/CoLab

Best Start Up Business Award, sponsored by AIB

Excellence in Marketing Award, sponsored by Bank of Ireland

Growth through Export Award, sponsored by Enterprise Ireland

Excellence in Customer Service Award, sponsored by Ulster Bank

Best Social Enterprise Award, sponsored by Optum

Business Person of the Year Award, sponsored by Donegal County Council

Hall of Fame Award, sponsored by City of Derry Airport