Donegal minors to face Armagh in Ulster final

Caolan McConville, Armagh, in action against Caolan McElwain, Monaghan.

Caolan McConville, Armagh, in action against Caolan McElwain, Monaghan.


CONOR Grimley’s goal five minutes into the second half fired Armagh’s minors into a first Ulster final since 2009, toppling the reigning Ulster champions, Monaghan, in the process.

Monaghan had led 0-5 to 0-4 after a low-key first half, but Grimley’s goal was enough for the Orchard who booked their spot in the July 20 final against Declan Bonner’s Donegal, although they needed three late points after a Monaghan fight-back.


Barry McGinn’s late free in a low-ket first half had given Monaghan the edge. It had been a blow-for-blow opening but McGinn – the game’s top scorer – landed the free to put the champions in front.

It was Armagh who came out the brighter for the second half and when Grimley netted the tide had turned.

Monaghan drew level with McGinn on the mark as well as two points by Dermot Gleeson and the Farney led again when David McAllister stroked over.

However, Armagh came good as the Orchard hit the final three points through Oisin O’Neill, Padraig Judge and Caolan McConville steering them home while Monaghan had midfielder Michael Murnaghan sent off late on.

Donegal defeated Armagh in the Minor League semi-final at O’Donnell Park and will now meet again in the Ulster MFC final next month.

Armagh: R Kearney; F Quinn, A Rushe, C Donnelly; C Boylan, C McKinney, C McNicholl; J Og Burns, S Conlon; J Rafferty, O O’Neill (0-2), K Mallon; R Hughes (0-3, 1f), C Grimley (1-0), C McConville (0-1). Subs: C Cullen (0-1, 1 ’45) for Rafferty (black card, 32 mins), P Judge (0-1) for Grimley (50 mins), R McKeown for McNicholl (56 mins), C Murphy for Hughes (58 mins).

Monaghan: S Garland; S Mohan, C Duffy, C McElwain; M Gamal, B Kerr, S Treanor; M Murnaghan, J Beattie; F Maguire, A Jones, M Bannigan; D Garland (0-1), D McAllister (0-1), B McGinn (0-6, 5f). Subs: J Mealiff for Maguire (37 mins), D Gleeson (0-1) for Garland (43 mins), S McMahon for Bannigan (60 mins), F Hughes for Beattie (62 mins).


Referee: N Mooney (Cavan)

Donegal face Monaghan on Sunday in Clones

A win this weekend would help move Donegal that little bit further away from the relegation zone ahead of...

Any day you go out and win a trophy for Donegal is classed as a good day in my...


Donegal News is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. St. Anne's Court, Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland