St Eunan’s College power into All-Ireland semi final

St Eunan'ss celebrate winning the St Patrick's Day final of the Danske Bank MacLarnon Cup at Armagh's Athletic Grounds.

St Eunan’ss celebrate winning the St Patrick’s Day final of the Danske Bank MacLarnon Cup at Armagh’s Athletic Grounds.


By Harry Walsh


ST EUNAN’S College moved to within an hour of the All-Ireland Post-Primary Schools ‘B’ final following this seven point win over Donegal neighbours Colaiste na Carraige in Ballyshannon this afternoon.
Looking to build on their MacLarnon Cup success the previous Monday the Letterkenny boys proved to be too strong for Carrick, the 2014 Markey Cup winners.
Playing with the advantage of a stiff breeze, Noel Ward’s team started brightly and led by two inside the opening ten minutes through Ryan Gillespie and Aodhan McGinley (free).
Sean Hume, who finished with a personal tally of 0-6, then took centre stage reeling off three unanswered scores inside five minutes to edge St Eunan’s into the lead at the end of the first quarter.
Two unanswered scores off the boot of Paddy Byrne and Conor Doherty (free) saw the led change hands once more before the game’s only goal turned the match in ‘Eunan’s favour.
Connell O’Boyle, who was excellent throughout, fed the ball to Hume and his fine pass sent Niall O’Donnell scampering clear to rifle an unstoppable shot beyond Michael Cunningham and into the roof of the net.
Philip McNern and Daire McDaid (free) swapped scores to leave the score 1-04 to 0-05 in favour of St Eunan’s at the break.
Two points from Hume put three between the sides inside six minutes of the restart but, to their credit, Colaise na Carraige refused to accept defeat.
Two frees, converted by Paddy Byrne, sandwiched between a point from St Eunan’s substitute Rory Carr left just three between the teams going into the final ten minutes.
That would be as good as it would get for Ward’s young charges however as further points from Hume, Niall O’Donnell, Daniel Gillespie and Daire McDaid meant the gap had been stretched out to seven at the long whistle.

ST EUNAN’S: Shaun Patton; Conor Morrison, Darragh McWalters, Connell O’Boyle; Darragh McMonagle, Conor O’Donnell, Sean McDonagh; Jordan McBride, Daniel Clarke; Cormac Callaghan, David Tyrell, Oisin Carr; Niall O’Donnell (1-01), Sean Hume (0-6, ’45, 2 fs), Daire McDaid (0-2, 1 free). Subs: Rory Carr (0-1) for Callaghan (46 mins), Michael Millar for Tyrell (49 mis), Daniel Gillespie (0-1) for O Carr (56 mins), Cormac Cannon and Oisin Sields for N O’Donnell and McDaid (59 mins)

Colaiste na Carraige: Michael Cunningham, Christopher Byrne, Jamie J McGinley, Conor Kennedy; Cormac Cannon, Pat Ward, Philip Doherty: Paddy Byrne (0-3, 2 frees), Ryan Gillespie (0-1); Paul Doherty, Pauric Cunningham, Andrew McClean; Conor Doherty (0-1 free) Aodhan McGinley (0-1, free)  Philip McNern (0-1). Subs; Martin Byrne for Paul Doherty (Half time) and Doherty for Byrne (47 mins).

REFEREE: Niall Cullen (Fermanagh)

See some images from around the County this week, events including the Musical Footloose, Milford v Glenea Donegal league,...

PÁDRAIG McGettigan is one of the busiest footballers in Donegal at present


Donegal News is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. St. Anne's Court, Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland