CCC conduct Intermediate, Junior and Under-21 Championship draws

Donegal GAA


PRIOR to Wednesday night’s Under-21 game between Donegal and Fermanagh in Ballybofey, the Donegal Competitions Controls Committee conducted the draws for the Intermediate, Junior and Under-21 Football Championships.

The first round of the Intermediate Championship is to be run off on a round robin basis this year for the first time.


Cloughaneely have dropped down from senior football from last year and are included in Group 2 with last year’s beaten Intermediate finalists, St Naul’s. East Donegal rivals Naomh Colmcille – semi-finalists twice in the last three years and now under Francie Martin’s management – and Burt are also included in what looks like a tough group.

Junior Champions Milford were the first team draw and are in Group A alongside Inishowen sides Buncrana and Carndonagh as well as Naomh Columba. Group 3 has the look of a Group of Death about it, with Fanad Gaels, Naomh Brid, Aodh Ruadh and Downings all sides who have had designs on winning this Championship in recent seasons.

The top two teams in each group will advance, as will the two best third-placed teams, to make the quarter-finals.

Defending Under-21 champions Kilcar have been drawn against Glenswilly to open their defence of that title, while there are a couple of tasty ties, not least the pairing of Naomh Conaill – who have been in the last eight finals, winning six of them – and an up and coming Gaoth Dobhair team aiming to make serious inroads in this competition.

The clash of St Eunan’s and Naomh Muire will also draw plenty of interest, while in the Under-21 B competiton the Termon-Convoy tie looks one filled with promise at this early juncture.

The Junior A Championship is also run on a round robin basis.

Beaten finalists from 2013 Urris have been drawn alongside Red Hughs, Robert Emmets, Na Rossa and Naomh Ultan with Group 2 comprising Moville, Lifford, Convoy, Letterkenny Gaels and Moville. Here, the group winner will go through to a semi-final. The second placed team from one group will play the third placed team from the other in two quarter-finals.


Meanwhile, Gaoth Dobhair were late entrants into the Junior B Championship, which has retained the knockout format, and the Magheragallon club’s new third team will be away to Red Hughs in the Championship, while the first tie drawn – St Eunan’s v Naomh Conaill – drew plenty of gasps from those in attendance.

Intermediate Championship

Group 1: Milford, Buncrana, Carndonagh, Naomh Columba

Group 2: Cloughaneely, Burt, St Naul’s, Naomh Colmcille

Group 3: Fanad Gaels, Naomh Brid, Aodh Ruadh, Downings

Junior A Championship

Group 1: Urris, Robert Emmets, Na Rossa, Naomh Ultan, Red Hughs

Group 2: Moville, Lifford, Convoy, Letterkenny Gaels, Muff

Junior B Championship

St Eunan’s v Naomh Conaill, Red Hughs v Gaoth Dobhair, Convoy v Sean MacCumhaills, Robert Emmets v Glenswilly, Ardara v Glenfin, Moville v Lifford, Naomh Ultan v Muff, Letterkenny Gaels v Pettigo

Under-21 A Championship

St Eunan’s v Naomh Muire, Dungloe v Sean MacCumhaills, Aodh Ruadh v Letterkenny Gaels, St Michael’s v Four Masters, Naomh Conaill v Gaoth Dobhair, Kilcar v Glenswilly, Buncrana v Ardara, Malin v Cloughaneely

Under-21 B Championship

Preliminary Round: Red Hughs v Lifford, Robert Emmets v Urris, Bundoran v Moville

First Round: Red Hughs/Lifford v Fanad Gaels, Naomh Colmcille v Naomh Brid, Carndonagh v Robert Emmets/Urris, Termon v Convoy, Naomh Columba v Burt, St Naul’s v Milford, Glenfin v Downings, Killybegs v Bundoran/Moville


Donegal News is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. St. Anne's Court, Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland