Southern Board to conduct Minor Championship draw tonight

Donegal GAA
THE Southern Minor Board will make the draw for their 2014 Minor Football Championship in the Abbey Hotel tonight.

The draws were postponed last month because of the uncertainty over the amalgamation of Dungloe and Na Rossa at the minor grade. Last Monday night, the amalgamation was given the green light at the monthly county committee meeting in Ballybofey.

Clubs in the south have been opposed to the merging of the clubs and a motion at last week’s meeting – in the name of the Ardara, Aodh Ruadh, Four Masters and Naomh Conaill clubs – called for the decision of the January county committee, at which County Chairman Sean Dunnion gave it the go-ahead on his casting vote, to be rescinded.


This was defeated by 50 votes to 24, meaning the clubs have joined forces for the Division 1 Minor Championship.

The Dungloe-Na Rossa team is to be managed by the former Donegal footballer Raymond Sweeney and they will learn their fate this evening as the Board makes its draw.

Three of the four clubs who jointly opposed the amalgamation (Aodh Ruadh, Ardara and Naomh Conaill) are also in the hat, as are Killybegs, Naomh Muire and Naomh Columba.

A Dungloe-Na Rossa ‘B’ team will compete in Division 2 alongside Bundoran, St Naul’s, Derg Gaels, Four Masters and Kilcar. Derg Gaels is an amalgamation of the Pettigo and Naomh Brid clubs.

The Division 2 draw will also take place tonight.

Ryan Connors gives us an insight into the Dungloe dressing room.

The final takes place on July 28 in the Waterside Theatre in Derry.

See some of this weeks featured pictures from around the County including the Fodder crisis, Dungloe Marching band Competition,...


Donegal News is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. St. Anne's Court, Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland