111 transfers into the Donegal Junior League

By Ryan Ferry

The transfer window for the Donegal Junior League closed on Monday, with a total of 111 transfers completed since August.

Incredibly, Ulster Senior league side Bonagee United have transferred out 30 players, although eight of those players have joined Bonagee’s Donegal League team. With each transfer costing E30, the Donegal Junior League made E900 from Bonagee’s transfers alone.


Drumkeen United and Kildrum Tigers have also seen a mass exodus of their players joining the Donegal League, with 15 players leaving Drumkeen and 16 moving on from Station Road.

Neil Lloyd has left Kildrum to join Curragh Athletic, while Johnny McGinty, Christopher Porter and Russell Porter are now part of Hugh ‘Rua” Gallagher’s squad at Gweedore Celtic.

Gary Merritt has left Finn Harps to join Milford United, and Merritt got off to a super start for Noel Gillespie’s men scoring a hat-trick against St Catherine’s on Sunday. Micheal Doherty,Shane Barclay and Ryan Shields have also left Finn Park, joining Drumoghill FC, Curragh Athletic and Kilmacrennan Celtic respectively.

Last year’s league champions Lifford Celtic have brought in eight players, with Lee Neeson rejoining the club after a brief stint at Letterkenny Rovers. Glenea United, who were pipped at the post last year by Lifford, have signed Joe Coll from Derry City, while four of their players have returned to Glascheroo after spending the summer playing Ulster Senior league football with Bonagee United.

Kerrykeel ‘71 were busy over the weekend concluding transfers to bring Davitt Walsh and Seamie ‘Coshia’ Friel to Rab’s Park. Walsh was on the books at Letterkenny Rovers this year, but spent the majority of the season in Boston, while Friel joins from Drumkeen United. Former Finn Harps legend, Paddy McGrenaghan is also on the Kerrykeel books after leaving Fanad United.

Meanwhile, Oisin McMenamin and Kieran Gorman have joined Rathmullan Celtic from Letterkenny Rovers while Keadue Rovers have acquired the services of Danny Rodgers and David Ward from Finn Harps.

The transfer window for the Donegal Junior League will reopen again on the 1st of December.



Oisin McMenamin (Letterkenny Rovers to Rathmullan Celtic)
Kieran Gorman (Letterkenny Rovers to Rathmullan Celtic)
Danny Rodgers (Finn Harps to Keadue Rovers)
David Ward (Finn Harps to Keadue Rovers)
Kristopher McLaughlin (Bonagee United to Orchard United)
Edward McLaughlin (Bonagee United to Orchard United)
Francie McGinley (Bonagee United to Orchard United)
Ross Hamyln (Bonagee United to Lagan Harps)
Drew Connolly (Fanad United to Lagan Harps)
James Gibson (Bonagee United to Lagan Harps)
John Mahon (Kildrum Tigers to Lifford Celtic)
Kevin McBrearty (Kildrum Tigers to Lifford Celtic)
Christopher Bogle (Kildrum Tigers to Raphoe Town)
Patrick Gallagher (Kildrum Tigers to Raphoe Town)
Gavin McBrearty (Bonagee United to Raphoe Town)
Simon McGlynn (Bonagee United to Raphoe Town)
Shane McIntyre (Kildrum Tigers to Drumoghill FC)
Anthony Fisher (Swilly Rovers to Ramelton Mariners)
Barry McGinley (Bonagee United to Glenea United)
Kevin Mulhern (Bonagee United to Glenea United)
Ryan McFadden (Bonagee United to Glenea United)
Paul Sweeney (Bonagee United to Glenea United)
Joe Coll (Derry City to Glenea United)
Paddy Sheridan (Bonagee Unired to Rathmullan Celtic)
Dara Patton (Letterkenny Rovers to Rathmullan Celtic)
Shea Coyle (Bonagee United to Rathmullan Celtic)
Barry Mooney (Swilly Rovers to Rathmullan Celtic)
Leonard Boyce (Swilly Rovers to Rathmullan Celtic)
Ryan Connolly (Letterkenny Rovers to Letterkenny Rovers)
Ciaran Gibson (Bonagee United to Bonagee United D.L)
Paddy O’Loan (Bonagee United to Bonagee United D.L)
Paddy McLaughlin (Bonagee United to Bonagee United D.L)
Kevin Doran (Letterkenny Rovers to Bonagee United D.L)
John Doran (Bonagee United to Bonagee United D.L)
Reece Short (Bonagee United to Bonagee United D.L)
Mark Hunter (Bonagee United to Bonagee United D.L)
Darren Ashmore (Bonagee United to Bonagee United D.L)
Marcus Oliver (Letterkenny Rovers to Bonagee United)
Martin Brogan (Bonagee United to Glencar Celtic)
Paddy Collins (Bonagee United to Glencar Celtic)
Liam McBride (Bonagee United to Kilmacrennan Celtic)
Edwin Doherty (Bonagee United to Kilmacrennan Celtic)
Enda Coll (Fanad United to Mulroy Celtic)
Seamus McLaughlin (Bonagee United to Cranford United)
Arthur Lynch (Fanad United to Cranford United)
Eddie Moore (Bonagee United to Curragh Athletic)
Roy Duffy (Bonagee Unitted to Curragh Athletic)
Calvin Bradley (Drumkeen United to Curragth Athletic)
Colin Carlin (Kildrum Tigers to Castlefin Celtic)
Joe McCarron (Bonagee United-Orchard United)
Greg Regan (Letterkenny Rovers to Drumoghill FC)
Paul Colhoun (Drumkeen United to Lifford Celtic)
Raymond Quinn (Drumkeen United to Glencar Celtic)
Mark Neeson (Letterkenny Rovers to Lifford Celtic)
Kyle Black (Swilly Rovers to Cranford United)
Eunan Diver (Swilly Rovers to Lagan Harps)
Brian Lafferty (Drumkeen United to Cappry Rovers)
Luke Friel (Letterkenny Rovers to Orchard United)
Daniel O’Donnell (Swilly Rovers to Aranmore Unirted)
Kevin Kelly (Bonagee United to Drumoghill FC)
Damien Crossan (Kildrum Tigers to Drumoghill FC)
Brian Coll (Kildrum Tigers to Drumoghill FC)
Liam O’Donnell (Swilly Rovers to Drumoghill FC)
Jamie Gallagher (Drumkeen United to Raphoe Town)
Ryan McCullagh (Drumkeen United to Raphoe Town)
Conor Crossan (Kildrum Tigers to Glencar Celtic)
Bernard McMenamin (Bonagee United to Orchard United)
Christopher Porter (Kildrum Tigers to Gweedore Celtic)
Myles McBride (Fanad United to Kerrykeel 71)
Patrick McGrenaghan (Fanad United to Kerrykeel FC)
Shane O’Gara (Letterkenny Rovers to St Catherine’s)
Odhran Grant (Drumkeen United to Bonagee United D.L)
Lee McMonagle (Drumkeen United- Bonagee United D.L)
Matthew O’Rourke (Letterkenny Rovers to Castlefin Celtic)
Ciaran Diver (Swilly Rovers to Lagan Harps)
David Curley (Swilly Rovers to Milford United)
David Gethins (Drumkeen United to Lifford Celtic)
Paul Given (Drumkeen United to Lifford Celtic)
Anthony O’Hagan (Kildrum Tigers to Castlefin Celtic)
David Craig (Drumkeen United to Raphoe Town)
John Sweeney (Drumkeen United to Raphoe Town)
Ryan McGonigle (Fanad United-Cranford United)
Ronan Carlin (Glenree United to Lagan Harps)
Bryan Kelly (Drumoghil FC to Lagan Harps)
Christopher Malseed (Letterkenny Rovers to Glencar Celtic)
Ruairi Kelly (Letterkenny Rovers to Glencar Celtic)
Stephen Davenport (Drumoghill FC- Killea FC)
Liam Travers (Cliffoney Celtic to Erne Wanderers)
Oisin Duffy (Swilly Rovers- Ramelton Mariners)
Seamus Gallagher (Deele Harps to Curragh Athletic)
Davitt Walsh (Letterkenny Rovers to Kerrykeel 71)
Seamus ‘Coshia’ Friel (Drumkeen United to Kerrykeel 71)
Barry Tourish (Kildrum Tigers to Castlefin Celtic)
Shane Barclay (Finn Harps to Curragh Athletic)
Gary Quinn (Raphoe Town to Curragh Athletic)
Micheal Doherty (Finn Harps to Drumoghill FC)
Liam Hollian (Ramelton Marniners to Milford United)
Gary Merritt (Finn Harps to Milford United)
Padraic Ferry (Fanad United to Milford United)
Emmett McNulty (Convoy Arsenal to Curragh Athletic)
Russell Porter (Kildrum Tigers to Gweedore Celtic)
Johnny McGinty (Kildrum Tigers to Gweedore Celtic)
Gavin Reilly (Drumkeen United to Cappry Rovers)
Declan Sweeney (Fanad United to Lagan Harps)
Alan Gethins (Drumkeen Celtic to Lifford Celtic)
Jason Burke (Dromoghill FC to Lagan Harps)
Christopher Patton (Kildrum Tigers to Ballybofey United)
Lee Guthrie (Drumkeen United to Convoy Arsenal FC)
Gary Patton (Drumkeen United to Bonagee United D.L)
Neil Lloyd (Kildrum Tigers to Curragh Athletic)
Ryan Shields (Finn Harps to Kilmacrennan Celtic).


Donegal News is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. St. Anne's Court, Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland