'Pringle biggest loser in five-seater'

DONEGAL will become a single, five seat constituency if the recommendations in the report of the Constituency Commission published yesterday (Thursday) are implemented.

The report recommends that the number of TDs nationally be reduced from the present 166 to 158 and the number of constituencies be reduced from 43 to 40. 

The new single Donegal constituency will be minus nine electoral divisions from Ballintra south, including Ballyshannon and Bundoran, which will become part of a new Sligo/Leitrim constituency, a four seater.

The population transferring to Sligo/Leitrim is 8,779 leaving the new Donegal constituency’s electorate at 152,358 based on the 2011 Census figures.


Donegal News is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. St. Anne's Court, Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland