Nominations received by players a fitting reward – McGuinness

The 2011 All-Star nominations were revealed by GAA chiefs on Tuesday and the names of seven Donegal men are on the list, with the final selection to be revealed on Friday October 21.
Goalkeeper Paul Durcan is nominated after a year in which he conceded just one Championship goal, while Neil McGee and Karl Lacey are considered to be front-runners for positions in the final 15.
McGee and Lacey are joined on the nominations list by unsung hero Frank McGlynn and Kevin Cassidy, an All-Star winner in 2002. Cassidy returned from retirement to finally capture that elusive Ulster medal and it was his memorable last-minute point against Kildare that fired Donegal to an All-Ireland semi-final.
Forwards Colm McFadden and Michael Murphy are also nominated for an award.


Donegal News is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. St. Anne's Court, Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland