Garda stations facing axed named

While Garda Chiefs have stressed there has been no firm decisions made at this time in relation to closure the process is an ongoing review into a broad range of savings within An Garda Síochána.

Well placed sources have revealed to the Donegal News a ‘hit list’ of one man garda stations ranging from Glencolmcille to Culdaff including border stations that face the chop.

The stations include Carrick, Glencolumcille, Annagry, Burtonport, Creeslough, Dunfanaghy, Rathmullan, Ramelton, Pettigo, Churchill, Brockagh, Carrigans, Newtowncunningham, Raphoe or Convoy, Malin and Culdaff. Public meetings are already being planned against the moves in towns such as Rathmullan and Ramelton.

“The Garda Commissioner has given each Chief Superintendent a list of stations based on their electronic


Donegal News is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. St. Anne's Court, Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland